Please Welcome Our First Guest: Hive Carbon! *Applause**Applause**Applause*

Wrap-up:
I feel, overall, that I did a fair job with that video (as a first effort), but I still believe that there are one ore two (or three) more things that need mentioning.

1.) I apologize for the confusion of theme over flavor.  I can tell you that, next week, I will be creating a post concerning my particular gaming vocabulary and how it may match up against others’.

2.) In the video, it appears as though I only know 2 abstract strategy games.  Believe me, that this is not the case.  I grew up on Chess, Checkers, Pente, Mancala, King’s Court (awesome game), and others.  However, on my videos, I do not want to alienate viewers by talking on endlessly about games they have never heard of OR talk out of turn about games that I do not know enough about.  Hence, I try to keep the game references in my video light, given that I am primarily trying to reach a newcomer/casual gamer crowd.

3.) Finally, on reflection, my reaction to Hive in the video seemed a bit harsh.  The more I play this game, the more I enjoy it for what it is.  It is a very fun game with a lot of replayability.  I, personally, will never be able to separate it from chess, but if I am looking for that same feeling, yet do not want to play a game that’s as heavy, Hive will be there.  I like that.

Recommendations:
If you like these games, you will probably like Hive:
– Chess
– The Duke (research-based recommendation)
– Checkers
– Hnefatafl
– Pente
– Abalone

Get the Game:
I will say the following statement in every post wherein I recommend a game:
– Please, support your friendly local game store!!
If you are interested in a game, check and see if there is a local game store in your area and give them a call or stop by.  If they are good people who run a good store, then they are definitely worth supporting.  Many of these people put their whole lives (not to mention money) into their businesses, so give them the business they need to keep in business (I will be doing another post at some point in the near future regarding local game stores).

Listing of Local Game Stores: – http://tinyurl.com/p7o3utk

However, there are some of us who only ever purchase online, and I understand the reasoning behind that decision.  If that person is you, here are the links to Hive Carbon on CoolStuffInc. & Amazon.

CoolStuffInc. – http://tinyurl.com/p8pzh2b
Amazon – http://tinyurl.com/oefzvlf

Closing:
See you Monday, when I will be discussing next week’s game: ?????????
Oh, and don’t forget (if you liked this) to follow the blog & my Twitter, subscribe to the Nerds4Knowledge YouTube channel, and/or like the N4K Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “Please Welcome Our First Guest: Hive Carbon! *Applause**Applause**Applause*

  1. Pingback: And now…*drumroll*…for the obligatory “Terminology Post” | Board2Tears

  2. Pingback: It’s time to start your training with…Ticket to Ride: Nordic Countries | Board2Tears

Your Opinions Here: